Caldwell County Historical Commission

Areas of Interest in Caldwell County


Located in Lockhart's Lions Park, the cabin was built in 1850 for his bride, Rebecca, this was the first home of one of Lockhart's founding fathers.
Caldwell County Courthouse

Built in 1893 to replace the original courthouse, the building is constructed of sandstone, in the second empire style that was often used for buildings during this period.
Caldwell County Jail

The Caldwell County jail was built in 1908-1909 and served as the county's jail until 1982.

Central Texas Oil Patch Museum

"Paying tribute to the oil industry and Luling's rich heritage" ~ located in downtown Luling.

Dr. Eugene Clark Library

The library was built  in 1899 with funds bequeathed by Dr. Eugene Clark to the City of Lockhart.  

Emmanuel Episcopal Church

Erected by the church's parish in 1855-56 and dedicated in 1857.  The building was constructed by a type of concrete made from caliche, gravel, and sand.  

Lockhart State Park 

Purchased by the state from Henry Masur in 1934. The park facilities were built by the CCC between 1935 and 1938.

Southwest Museum of Clocks and Watches

Located in one of the historic Brock buildings on the square in Lockhart.
Zedler Mill

Originally built in 1874, the mill has gone through several modifications through the years and remains a stunning landmark on the San Marcos River in Luling.